The Raise Foundation, convening Orange County’s Child Abuse Prevention Council, has focused on Mandated Reporting for much of the organization’s history by providing comprehensive trainings and workshops to professionals seeking training opportunities.
The Raise Foundation, convening Orange County’s Child Abuse Prevention Council, has focused on Mandated Reporting for much of the organization’s history by providing comprehensive trainings and workshops to professionals seeking training opportunities. Mandated Reporting has been included in several end of year recommendations to the Orange County Board of Supervisors in CAPC Annual Reports. More recently, Orange County’s Child Abuse Prevention Council approved the designation of a Mandated Reporter Strategic Planning Committee and featured Mandated Reporting during the Blue Ribbon Community Forum.
While everyone should report suspected child abuse, The California Penal Code provides that it is a crime for certain professionals and laypersons who have a special working relationship of contact with children not to report suspected child abuse to the proper authorities. These professionals and laypersons shall report the known or suspected child abuse to a child protective agency immediately or as soon as practically possible by telephone and shall prepare and send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident.
California Penal Code 11172, subdivision (e) gives mandated reporters who report suspected cases of child abuse absolute immunity, both civilly and criminally, for making such reports. However, any person who fails to report an instance of child abuse as required by the Child Abuse Reporting Act is guilty of a misdemeanor with a punishment not to exceed six months or $1,000 or both.
For Mandated Reporters who suspect child abuse or neglect, your call is required by law (PC 11166).
A Mandated Reporter must call 714-940-1000 or 800-207-4464, prior to submitting a written report.
The follow-up written report should be faxed to (714) 938-0289, mailed or submitted electronically via the mandated reporter webpage. (https://www.ssa.ocgov.com/abuse/child/mandated/forms)
Types of professions identified as Mandated Reporters:
· Police Officers
· Daycare/Childcare Provider
Types of child abuse allegations:
· Neglect: lack of provision of food, water, shelter, security and/or supervision.
· Sibling abuse: family violence perpetrated by a biological or nonbiological sibling that can include physical, verbal or sexual abuse.
· Physical abuse: any nonaccidental physical injury to the child and can include striking, kicking, burning, or biting the child, or any action that results in a physical impairment of the child.
· Sexual abuse: unwanted sexual activity, with perpetrators using force, making threats or taking advantage of victims not able to give consent.
· Emotional abuse: sometimes called psychological abuse, is a pattern of behavior that damages a child's sense of self-worth and negatively impacts their emotional development. Includes rejection, incessant criticism, demeaning, withholding of affection and support.
· Severe neglect: the unwillingness of the parent or caretaker to provide for adequate basic needs, where there is physical injury or injury is likely to occur including malnutrition, non-organic failure to thrive, chronic neglect and/or abandonment.
· Abandonment: occurs when a parent, guardian, or person in charge of a child either deserts a child without any regard for the child's physical health, safety or welfare and with the intention of wholly abandoning the child, or in some instances, failing to provide necessary care for a child living under their care.
· Exploitation: refers to the use of children for someone else’s advantage, gratification or profit often resulting in unjust, cruel and harmful treatment of the child.
County of Orange Social Services Agency
Office of Child Abuse Prevention
Tustin Police Department